George Hoehmann Ousts Incumbent Clarkstown Supervisor Gromack

George Hohmann, Clarkstown Town Supervisor

George Hohmann, Clarkstown Town Supervisor

CLARKSTOWN, NY (Clarkstown Daily Voice) – In a surprise upset, Republican Councilman George Hoehmann has unseated long-term Democratic incumbent Clarkstown Supervisor Alex Gromack in a decisive win on Tuesday. 

The vote was 10,186 to 8,086. 

Hoehmann's vacant seat can be filled by appointment or special election. 

Incumbent council member Frank Borelli (R) retained his seat with 10,001, and Republican John J. Noto Jr., with 9,411, upset longtime incumbent Democrat Shirley R. Lasker, who trailed with 7,983 votes. Daniel Caprara (D) drew 8,026 votes. 

Howard Gerber (D) and David Ascher (D) won town justice. Frank M. Dizenzo beat Wayne T. Ballard and Robert E. Malone (D) for Superintendent of Highways. 

Clarkstown Town Clerk Justin L Sweet will serve another two-year term. 

A pair of propositions on the Clarkstown ballot would significantly change the size and shape of local government. The first proposition would establish a "ward system" electing members of the Town Board based on different geographic districts; the second would increase the size of the Town Board from four seats to six. The ward system issue has turned up the heat in an already hot race between Democratic Supervisor Alex Gromack, who opposes it, and Republican challenger and councilman George Hoehmann, who has pushed it. 

Hoehmann, who has been on the town board since 2009, says “it’s time for a change.” 

The 49-year-old candidate is promising tax relief, debt reduction and a top-to-bottom review of Town Hall. He says there is a need for an ethics overhaul. 

Voters passed a first proposition to establish a "ward system" electing members of the Town Board based on different geographic districts but rejected expansion of the town council to six members.